Pumpelly, BGB Lead Pilot Challenge Testing at Roar

Photo: Jake Galstad/IMSA

Spencer Pumpelly ended three days of Michelin Pilot Challenge testing on top of the time charts in the final tuneup before the series’ opener at Daytona International Speedway next week.

Pumpelly’s fast time of 1:54.130 seconds in the BGB Motorsports Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport was set on Friday in the first session of the Roar Before the 24 test and withstood three days of running at the top of the charts.

Bill Auberlen ended the week second fastest in the No. 95 Turner Motorsport BMW M4 GT4, followed by former ST class champion Chad McCumbee in a PF Racing-entered Ford Mustang GT4.

Wright Motorsports’ Jan Heylen and Stephen Cameron Racing’s Gregory Liefooghe completed the top five.

Of note, the Toyota GR Supra GT4 made its series debut in the hands of Riley Motorsports with Julian Santero and Alfredo Najri both setting times.

Defending GS champion Kyle Marcelli was back with the KohR Motorsports team but back in a Ford Mustang after a year campaigning Aston Martin machinery, although his 2020 co-driver Nate Stacy was not present.

Marcelli was teamed with Chuck Cassaro and team owner Dean Martin at the Roar.

TCR class honors went to Ryan Eversley in the No. 94 Atlanta Speedwerks Honda Civic Type R TCR.

Jon Morley was second fastest in an Audi RS3 LMS for Road Shagger Racing, while Tim Lewis was third for KMW Motorsports with TMR Engineering in No. 5 Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR.

The top Hyundai was a Veloster N TCR, which was consistently the car to beat in 2020, belonging to Rory van der Steur of Van der Steur Racing in seventh place.

The new Hyundai Elantra N TCR made its debut with Bryan Herta Autosport with Mark Wilkins setting the car’s best time, albeit down the order in 21st on the combined time sheets.

RESULTS: Roar Before the 24

Lämna ett svar

Din e-postadress kommer inte publiceras. Obligatoriska fält är märkta *